Take me to church

This isn’t strictly family history but churches play such a big part in our research that I felt a reminder of the peace and sense of history that we find in churches and churchyards would be timely.

A Parrot's Nest

The weather has been glorious as summer drains away and though my camera and I have been busy I’ve been a little under the weather recently and lacking inspiration. Sometimes I get the feeling that I’m running round in little circles getting nothing much done and it’s at those times that I need to pause and think.20150926-DSC_0382

Every now and then as I drive back and forth across the Cotswolds I stop in a village and explore – we’re knee-deep in the picturesque here but too often we hurtle past it. Just recently on my way back from the Cotswold Wildlife Park I went straight across the crossroads instead of my usual left, and found myself snooping around Shilton.20150925-DSC_0312

It’s a picture-book pretty village with plenty of wobbly cottages, probably more holiday homes than houses for locals; a couple boasted cars so posh they were shrouded as if recently dead.  It was the middle of the afternoon and…

View original post 522 more words

