Who Do You Think You Are Live show at Olympia

Our next meeting is on Monday 24 February at 7pm.

Hope to see you there.  We’ll talk about our visit to WDYTYA live and what we saw and heard.  I was there on two separate days and actually could have done with three to see all I wanted to.

Who Do You Think You Are Live 20-22 February 2014

A small group of our members went with me to the Who Do You Think You Are Live show at Olympia last Friday getting back late that night after a leisurely start on a late morning train.  Most of us came back with freebies, leaflets and other items which as the late train back was a bit crowded made for an interesting journey.  We did however get seats.

I had a stint to do on the Association of Professional Genealogists stand and had also booked for Chris Paton’s talk on the Ruhleben prisoners of war who were mainly civilians and merchant seaman.  This was absolutely fascinating and you can find out more on The Ruhleben Story 

There seemed to be were even more talks to attend than ever this year and I also managed to catch Meurig Jones’ talk on the Saturday  which was on Second Anglo-Boer War research.  In it he explained about his database on Findmypast and how he had added to and amended the existing records.  I came away with a lot of notes and much food for thought.  For more information see Register of the Second Anglo-Boer War

I also visited the Guildhall Library stand, the one for Dr Williams’ library and that for the College of Arms as well as a great many others including the one for Belgium.  This reminded me that the 200th anniversary of the battle of Waterloo is next year and it looks as if there will be a big re-enactment of the battle.

Reading the Belgium tourist literature I found out that this was not the only battle of Waterloo as 114 years earlier there had been the first battle of Waterloo this time the Duke of Marlborough’s.  I hadn’t realised just how much of a battleground Belgium had been over the years.

I will definitely be going again next year.

Jacqui Kirk

